Discuss Lack of hot water pressure in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

nevmac

Hi,

I have a major issue with my hot water pressure.
The 2 showers cannot get enough hot water and struggle. The taps in the en-suite and bathroom reduce output when i run them.
However, if I lower the shower head in the bathroom the feed seems to improve, and the tap in the en-suite reduces to a trickle quicker than the one in the bathroom, which doesnt reduce as far.

Down stairs the kitchen hot water is not the greatest, but usable.
The downstairs toilet is the best out of the lot and is almost fine.

You do get air come through sometimes when you run the hot, it may splutter a bit.

I have a hotwater tank in the airing cupboard upstairs which is fed by a cold water tank in the loft. I have a new boiler installed in the kitchen.

If anyone can suggest something that would be great.

BTW I am not a plumber by trade, just a DIY plumber so simple explinations would be great.

Thanks.

some more info pls.

has the problem just developed, has it been gradually gettin worse, have you had some work done ie new bathroom in an extension or new taps etc, was it ok before this work if any?

the pressure is directly related to the head which is the height of the system. velocity is related to length of pipe runs and elbows and tees etc, this is why one bathroom's flow is better than the other.(it will be sited closer to the feed cistern or have less elbows and restrictions)

if it was fine before and you have had an extension/ added a bathroom etc then you may need to look at boosting the supply

KJ

Hi,

The bathroom is closer (slightly) than the new extension which houses the en-suite.
The pipes for the en-suite go to a pump and then up again into the attic, where as the pipes for the bathroom drop into the floor.