Discuss Kitchen sink plumbing problem in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

themadmonk82

Hello. First off can I say that i'm a plumbing novice! I have recently moved into a new house and I'm in need of a little plumbing advice if there are any knowledgeable people out there kind enough to give me some help.

Above is a link to some pictures of the plumbing under my kitchen sink. To my untrained eye, the 'outlet' pipe to the drain outside is too high. Maybe the trap is also in the wrong place? Water from the sink and drainer has to rise almost to plughole level before it drains out into the outlet pipe. Am I correct in assuming that the only thing I can do to rectify this is to lower the hole in the outer wall that leads to the drain? ie drill a new hole in the wall?

Also what is the black contraption in two bits linked by a black plastic lead? It has a dial on the top of the sink but it doesn't seem to do anything?

Any help or advice would be wonderful as I'm running out of money trying to fix all the bodges i'm discovering and need to do as much as possible myself to keep costs down!

Thanks for reading

Thanks. I can't post pictures or urls because I'm a new member! I only discovered this once I'd written the post!
Any idea how I can give access to pictures with these restrictions? ?

The black lead and 2 parts sounds to me like a basket strainer pop up. Basicly tirb the knob and the plug should pop up. Pictures as stated would enable us to assist you better.

Hopefully should be some pics up soon Thanks to a very helpful person!

I have been looking closer and I think they have installed the bottle trap the wrong way round also??!

20140811_185147.jpg20140811_185139.jpg20140811_185130.jpg20140811_185122.jpg

There you go

It looks like someone has just made that up out of left over bits. You shouldnt have a bottle trap on a kitchen sink anyway.