Search the forum,

Discuss It’s hard breaking into the industry. Any help? in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

I’m finding it hard breaking into the industry. I’m a trainee plumber living in London

Hello,

I'm a trainee plumber who lives in London who's found it challenging trying to find a place to work, or gain experience in order to obtain my nvq level 2 even though I've passed my level 2 diploma 2 years ago at college. A lot of companies won’t take you on because I don’t have a lot of experience but how would I gain experience when no one wants to take me on?

I may be wrong but im starting to think a lot of ways to break into the industry isn’t what you know but who you know.

I'm young and im eager to prove myself. I chose a career in plumbing because I want to work in a job that provides me with new challenges each day which i feel i wasnt getting in alot of the other jobs I've done throughout the years.

I know I will make a great addition to any plumbing company as I earnestly want to become a plumber. Some people apply just for the sake of it, iam not one of those people. Ive taken all the necessary steps to become one, achieving my level 2 diploma, water regulations etc. Spending a lot money, time, energy and resources.

I've been driven by this one singular goal for the last 3 years. I've being living and sleeping about it. Constantly envisioning the day a plumbing company would give me an opportunity to prove myself a worthy asset but it has proven to be difficult. I’ve definitely found it quite disheartening to say the least.

I’m writing this to see if anyone would want to take me on as a trainee or knows knows someone I could work with for free. I will clean the work sites, fetch tools, drive to screwfixes etc. That way it would benefit both parties. They could get the satisfaction of imparting their knowledge and experience to someone who would be eternally grateful.

Many thanks