Search the forum,

Discuss Installing acrylic shower bath. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

Hump1

I am in the process of replacing our bath with a acrylic shower bath but concerned about the perceived poor support the 'cradle' will give. In my youth as a apprentice plumber I used to install baths, at that time in the 60's baths were solid cast iron with cast iron waste pipes, hot lead run joints etc so everything was solid. I left the trade long before plastic baths came along. It dosn't fill me with confidence when I look at 2 pieces of tubular steel expected to support the weight of 200 litres of water+ a human being. I would also like to connect the 22mm pipes directly to the bath taps rather than use any flexible hose as I have learned that the latter has only a 10year life as opposed to copper which has a 30-50 year life. I would be very grateful if anybody could give me some tips on reinforcing the support the bath will need and any info on problems that may arise by connecting the copper pipes to this type of bath directly. Many thanks.

batton the back out and use 2x4 at the front where the bath panel would be, and if you want , L-brackets to support it to the walls(as many as you want)

Measure height of bath (panel) and install a level batton round periphery. Apply sanitary silicone to batton, and drop bath onto it. Let the nuts on the feet go loose, and allow feet to drop to floor. Screw feet down. Now tighten nuts on feet, being careful to pull the bath down onto batton. Check levels.

If you have a high pressure system, then use 15mm and pipe in plastics (25 year guarantee) - this will save you hours of work. Use speed-fit tap connectors and just slip pipe into fitting.