Search the forum,

Discuss Ideal Isar HE24 frozen condensate pipe in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

johnbeard

Hi, I'm a newbie and looking for some advice.

The condensate pipe on our Ideal Isar HE24 keeps freezing, so the boiler stops working (displaying the L:F error code) - when it first happened two days ago I rang our usual heating engineer who, unsurprisingly, said it might take a day or two for him to get out, but he suggested it was probably the external condensate pipe and to try pouring hot water on it. That worked, then it froze up again yesterday, so I did the same again - which worked again. I assume this is going to keep happening until the weather warms up, so I'm looking for a short term alternative solution, as the boiler is at first floor level, so I keep having to go up an icy ladder and pour water from a flask, which I'm not particularly enjoying and is terrifying my wife!

The condensate pipe is 35mm on the outside, and 22mm on the inside. The external pipe isn't insulated, and I'm struggling to find any big enough insulation/lagging at B&Q (I can find better stuff online, but it will obviously not come until the new year if I order it now).

Having looked at other forums, some people suggest cutting the internal condensate pipe and draining it to a bucket, but on one forum someone said that option wasn't appropriate for Ideal Isar boilers as it would lead to flue gases leaking out (I'm spectacularly non-techie, as you can probably tell).

Any other ideas? I'm thinking about buying some heat pads and strapping them to the outside pipe, but whether that will have much effect I don't know.

Any suggestions gratefully received, thanks.