Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Has anyone ever come across anything like this before? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Ceno

Hi, I'm a carpenter renovating my house. I have done all the plumbing (except gas work) under the supervision of my mate who's a plumber. During fitting a new bathroom, I had been struggling to get a seal with a pan connector onto the toilet, which turned out to be a big lump of stray ceramic stuck underneath the outlet. Because I had spent so much time with my head round the toilet, I noticed a sewer smell. The same smell was there two days after successfully sealing the toilet. It was in the cistern, and in the toilet after any time with the seat down. I could not understand how sewer gas was getting through the water trap in the bottom of the toilet. After a bit of thinking I decided that as the cistern was fitted to the pan correctly, the only way for the gas to get in was through the internal overflow. I poured a gallon of water through the overflow pipe (inside the cistern) and not one drop came back into the pan. If water can bypass the U then so can sewer gas! I have spent a couple of hours searching the net for this problem, but found nothing. As I was sure this toilet didn't comply with regs, I phoned WRAS, but they said it's down to the installer to ensure that sanitry ware complies. The supplier has agreed to send a replacement, but I wouldn't be surprised if it's a design fault. Has anyone ever come across this problem before?

I poured a gallon of water through the overflow pipe (inside the cistern) and not one drop came back into the pan.

Did this just cause the cistern to fill up more or did it go 'somewhere'?

The water just went 'somewhere'. As the cistern didn't fill up, and there was no water on the floor, - I assume it went down the soil pipe.