Discuss Getting a placement for my Gas Course in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

theanalyst

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
ok, I have been working in the building industry for quite a few years and have done a lot of bathrooms and general plumbing (not gas of course) for an employer.

I decided last year that I needed to get Corgi registered (as it was at the time) and hence I saved up and am undertaking a course very soon with Met Uk that will give me the qualifications I need, provided I pass..

The placement to me is the most crucial bit and I am trying to arrange one myself as this is the weak link with many training providers so I am told (including met)...

Has anyone got any advice or possible contacts I could try? I am based in Sheffield and could work anywhere within say a 50 mile radius.

I have all my own tools and am an asset rather than a drain on resources.... am hoping this may give me an advantage in finding a decent (unpaid) placement.

All info appreciated :)

THANKS

tbh give met a chance to find you something as you are paying them to anyway if you are on the multi skills course
they found me on even though i am employed and can only do 2 days a week
first guy fell through but within a week they found me an excellent placement and everyone on my course got a placement
it is crucial so dont settle for a second rate placement

Glad u got placment. I heard a bad rap about met-uk promising placements and then not even bothering to try and find something. Student after 3 months had to find his own. Make sure it is in writing and a garantee as no placment no qualification.

its a guranteed interview they offer in writing and only one but i have to say the palcement team really worked hard for the guys on my course even a guy who lived in truro got one