Discuss Gas.....the next move! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Dan the plumber

Evening all,

I am stuck between I rock & a hard place at the min...

I have been a self employed Plumber now for the past 2.1/2 yrs and it ain't been easy by any stretch of the imagination. I started working for myself not long after I finished my "fast pass" 4 month training course (frown!)....my advice to any young person thinking of entering this industry is get to college for a few yrs, but more importantly try and get some hands on experiance as it is a totally different life out there in the real world and no text book can teach you that!!!

I have been contemplating for a good few months now whether to fork out £££ and get my gas quals, but the problem is the work in Plumbing isn't there in order to fund my gas training hence means getting into more debt, but if I don't do it then means I'll just keep plodding along earning a pants wage as a Plumber!!!

The next problem is where to do my gas training; I want to go to a training centre where I will actually "learn" rather than them rushing me through in order to get my hard earned cash and on to the next candidate! Water is bad enough but gas is a different kettle of fish!!!

Thankfully I have an intelligent other half who earns enough to keep both me, her and the dog........otherwise I would be up *a* creek without a paddle, or a boat for that matter!

Hmmmmmm decisions decisions

Last edited by a moderator: