Discuss gas safe number and work outside of work!! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

beesley121

hi guys,

after working as a plumber for the past 5 years, i decided i needed to become GSR. i have been working with a GSE for the last 12 months with the company i work for and Im in the process of completing my portfolio so i can take my exams to become GSR.

anyway, when i finally do become GSR obviously i will become registered under my company. I assume this means that only gas works completed with work can be passed off but i want to be able to do some work at the weekends for myself so is it possible that i can obtain my own GS number and how do i go about??. obviously, this would also mean that any jobs i pass off in my own time would be liable to a payment to the tax man so does this also mean i would need to setup my own company outside of work and can this be done??

many thanx

It is just a case of applying for your own card. circa £500 last time I heard. Tax isn't my forte, but you will need to declare any extra earnings if you want to go by book.
Your current employer may also need to know dependant on your contractual agreement with them if you are doing other work on side.

1000's of employed gas engineers have their own GSR number so that they can do work, contact GSR complete a form pay your dosh then sort out the business side of things to pay tax & NI etc very straight forward process

thanx for the replies guys. im paying for the course myself so if i register myself first, how much does it cost the company i work for to add me to the register as my company is already registered gas safe??

thanx for the replies guys. im paying for the course myself so if i register myself first, how much does it cost the company i work for to add me to the register as my company is already registered gas safe??