Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Checkout our Plumbers Insurance area - heavily discounted Public Liability Insurance and Van Insurance specifically designed for plumbers.

Discuss From Military to Gas Engineer? Is this a good Career choice? in the Gas Safe Register Forum - Public Forum area at UKPlumbersForums.co.uk.

1. pjjunior

pjjunior New Member

After 9 years of service I’ve decided to leave the Army. I’m currently a Weapon Systems Engineer and looking for a completed change.

So I’m interested in becoming a Gas Engineer. The choice of “Fast Track” courses is overwhelming, with all sorts of different qualifications and work placements ect promised.

I decided to come here to get some sort of incite of the trade from the Horses mouth.

So my questions -

Is this the correct career to pursue? I know the whole “Gas Engineer shortage” is hyped up.

Will anyone employ me? No experience in Gas apart from a hastily delivered “Fast track” course.

What qualifications should I be aiming to gain? One provider supplies “Level 3 Diploma in Gas Utilisation” is that worth anything in the industry?

Thanks for taking time to read my post, any advice is appreciated.

2. Gasmk1

Gasmk1 GSR

its a catch 22 without experience hard to get a job but then its hard to get experience. you will find most of the guys on here do not rate the fast track course. does your job in the army not point you to computer systems analysis type work ? dont get me wrong its a great job but i did it from leaving school through an apprenticeship with BG and never out of work. i am sur emost of the guys on here went down a similar route. thats why they wont recommend a fast track course. try to see if you can get a job with a company and train with them it will be longer and the money will be poor until your are qualified.

3. pjjunior