Search the forum,

Discuss Flue position - will this be a problem? in the Gas Engineers Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

We are considering buying a house which currently has a 20 year old Ideal Icos boiler, so we're factoring in replacing the boiler soon. Current boiler is on an external kitchen wall with the flue going straight out. However, it's positioned in between a door and the kitchen window, quite close to both. Presume if we get a new boiler, the flue would have to meet current regs? Does this look like it would be a problem? I have no knowledge about this sort of thing so don't know if I'm misunderstanding, but some websites say it has to be 300mm from windows and doors, and some say it's got to be 1200mm away from doors,
which this clearly isn't.

Is there likely to be a straightforward solution if the current flue position doesn't meet regs, or would we have to look at moving the boiler? There is just nowhere it could be moved to in the kitchen without ripping out some of the brand new fitted units, so it's something we need to consider if we're going to buy this house. I'd be really grateful for any advice. Thank you.
Screenshot_20231128_214959_Samsung Internet.jpg

Good evening Snuggles. For most Boiler Manufacturers nowadays it’s 300mm from any window or opening and 2000mm from the floor. You should be ok when getting a new one fitted. But I would recommend you get a local Gas Safe Registered Installer to take a look to double check. Most don’t charge to put a quote together.

Harvest

Last edited:
Good evening Snuggles. For most Boiler Manufacturers nowadays it’s 300mm from any window or opening and 2000mm from the floor. You should be ok when getting a new one fitted. But I would recommend you get a local Gas Safe Registered Installer to take a look to double check. Most don’t charge to put a quote together.

Harvest