Discuss Feedback about balancing my radiators in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

retired man

This is my second post. It is an update on the first post which sought advice about whether an external expansion vessel would help 2 radsfurthest from the boiler which never got above lukewarm.

The advice I got was to balance my rads which has workedand my system now works much more effectively. THANK YOU VERY MUCH. I am a layman with no technical expertise andjust wanted to report back on my experience which may help others. I followed the advice provided by croppie which was straightforward but did not exactly“fit” my system. My experience was as follows:

• I have 16 rads but a mix of 3 types of valve arrangement; 3 lockshield/thermostatic, 6 thermostatic/wheelhead and 7 wheelhead/wheelhead.
  • I worked out the flow and return on each rad, I hope I am right in saying that return gets hot after the flow.
  • After opening all the radiator valves up the boiler took 20 mins to fire up. I was just starting to get worried when it fired up.
  • At point 6 I did not understand the reference to the DHW cylinder and the use of the throttle valve. This sounded too technical for me.
  • At point 6 of the instructions all radiator valves were open but the two rads furthest from the boiler did not get hot at all but the others were all hot. After 2 hours I decided to move on to point 7.
  • The first rad on my list is a ladder type towel rail with two wheelhead valves. Closing the return led to the valve leaking water badly and so I had to open it up again. I will need to get this valve replaced but should I replace it with a lockshield valve?
  • The second rad had lockshield/thermostatic valves but opening the lockshield it up by a quarter turn left it cold. I had to open it up by 2 turns before it got hot.