Discuss Do you still use voicemail? Do you think there's a better alternative? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

willemmuller

Hi Plumbers

I'm an app developer, exploring pain points around phone usage within the plumbing industry. Do you think voicemail is the optimal solution to a missed call?

Alternative solutions solutions I can think of...
- presenting caller with option to see your current location you are when you can't take the call
- an automated service that lets callers browse for gaps in your online calendar to schedule a viewing

Are you satisfied with the current solutions around voicemail and missed calls?

Regards
Willem

Hi welcome to the forum. It's a great place you should stick around but prepare for both good and bad opinions. But please remember nothing's personal and a few of the lads can be highly strung by this time on a Friday.

Definitely not sending someone my location when they cannot get hold of me.

By far and large the worst idea of anyone ever.

You know the fella that gave Jimmy Savile access to restricted areas well he's currently at home reading this thinking to himself..."well at least I didn't come up with this idea"

Disgruntled customer cannot get hold of you on a Sunday afternoon and trust me they do try! Gets your location and decides to pop down to St.thomas's where you and the loved ones are enjoying midnight mass and starts a scene because you didn't answer the phone. Not to mention the Mrs don't even get me started!!

I'll be honest voicemail is simple and personal and for a small business it's ideal.

Perhaps some big companies might like it but with these divert to a call handler services that are available I can't see it taking off.

Others may disagree but that's my seat any how.

Good luck buddy