Search the forum,

Discuss Can I remove a disconnected gas fire,leaving the back boiler in place? in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

J

Jcuk691

Hi all,

I am a plumber but I do not carry out works to boilers as the majority of my is bathrooms so I am not gas safe.

I have completed a bathroom for a regular customer. She is of old age and is starting to get a little clumsy and her son has asked me to look at the old gas fire/back boiler.

The fire was disconnected and not been in use for over 15 years. Heating is still on unvented gravity system. The metal shrouds on the fireplace are loose and connecting brackets are missing, screw holes are cross threaded etc. She has a tendency to bump things with her walking frame and keeps knocking the bottom front plate of the fire off and is concerned that she is going to cause herself an injury if it falls off her foot etc.

He has asked me if it would be possible to remove the gas fire, (already disconnected) leaving the back boiler in place as to avoid messy removal, and then to fashion up some sort of cover for the void, something along the lines of a mirror/picture frame. Basically to remove any danger of injury with minumum disruption and cost.

Is there any reason why the back boiler cannot remain in place not to be used if the gas fire is removed? Is there anything regulations wise stopping me doing this work as the gas supply is already disconnected? Or should I advise them to consult a gas safe engineer for this one.

Thanks in advance

Jay

Gas engy I’m afraid

Reply to Can I remove a disconnected gas fire,leaving the back boiler in place? in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics