Search the forum,

Discuss Being in the gas industry in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

andyg0507

Thought id start a post on how people have got into this game, where they started and how the more experienced lads/ladies have learnt to be good gas engineers, im sure this will be an insight into other people getting into or already in the trade and still learning.

Ile start the post off with my experience.

I started plumbing and gas five years ago when i decided that the £40 i was getting fitting windows all over the country was taking the p**s, decided to go to college and learn a trade at the age of 25, once i had started my course i was lucky and managed to find an employer where i did boiler installs, servicing, breakdowns on a regular basis.

After id completed the level 1 plumbing course i enrolled on a gas foundation course which my employer had said i was ready for and 12 months later i was a gas engineer ( a bit of a virgin tho ) i then completed my 6129, (not the right order i may add).

Since passing my gas my learning curve has been that steep you could fall off it, sometimes things dont go to plan and you learn the hard way,sometimes im at work till 9pm, some days are that quiet i could win a qiz show about t.v the previous day, and sometimes if works quiet wonder where the money for the bills is coming from at the end of the month.

Whats all your views on getting to where you are, how have you learnt, what are you best at?

And a big thing also to say is, no i didnt get into this trade because id seen some advert telling me i can earn 50k a year, i got into it because it intrested me and to be honest i love it, no days the same, so anyone who's wanting to get into this trade have a long hard think as to why you want to do it because the money isnt what it says on the tin all the time.

Any way look forward to all your feed backs, good or bad:yes: