Search the forum,

Discuss Are the Gas regs applied retrospectively? in the Gas Engineers Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Full disclosure, I am an Electrician.

One of my older clients has just had her fire capped off because it doesn't comply with today's regs and was told the regs are now retrospectively applied.

This is the opposite of what I am used to. For example, if I do an electrical inspection and find a consumer unit with no RCD I would advise improvement, but it is not a 'fail' as it complied when it was first installed. If I change that same consumer unit it becomes a new install and I must comply with current regs.

So what is the procedure with gas installs? Is it the regs in force on the day of installation or are today's gas regs retrospectively applied to existing installs?

No they aren't necessarily retrospective but if the regulations in place at the time something was installed were not adhered to, or there is a safety issue, then you would address it by using the current standards. Similar to Electrical as far as I know.

We come across this stuff quite often.
First thing to do is to determine why it has been disconnected - safety issue or non compliance issue.
If it's a safety issue - fair enough.
If it's a non compliance issue - which the appliance shouldn't be disconnected.
It may not be installed to current regulations, but was installed to regulations at the time of installation.

What's the appliance and reason for disconnection?

We come across this stuff quite often.
First thing to do is to determine why it has been disconnected - safety issue or non compliance issue.
If it's a safety issue - fair enough.
If it's a non compliance issue - which the appliance shouldn't be disconnected.
It may not be installed to current regulations, but was installed to regulations at the time of installation.

What's the appliance and reason for disconnection?

Thanks for the replies.