Search the forum,

Discuss Are college diplomas worth it for getting into plumbing? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello everyone. I'm 22 and want to get into plumbing. I can't seem to see any apprenticeships to apply for in my area (Newbury) but I can see my local college do Level 1 & 2 diplomas in plumbing. I have applied for a level 1 course and I am going to have an interview with the college next week. My main question is as the title suggest is it worth doing a diploma as I've seen you need to get a NVQ Level 2 anyway right? Also I have no trades experience as I have always worked in offices. Thanks in advance.

College’s apear to be going down this “ diploma” route these days, I am no expert but if the diploma leads to you completing the NVQ well thats great .
The problem you may have with the NVQ ( site based evidence) is getting a qualified plumber / heating engineer to sign off your work , in other words the diploma is worth sod all without the NVQ, ask the question at the college.

Training plumbers in colleges is invalid and dangerous and Dr Simon Reddy did a PhD to prove it - the plumbing industry in the UK is toxic and for this reason #apprenticeshipmovement have introduced the #JourneymanPlumber which is fixed duration 48 months - with mandatory 36 months under supervision of expert in work place - college courses and city and guilds qualifications in plumbing are no longer approved by our Domestic Plumbing Trailblazer - note that over 93% of plumbing students in FE fail to find employment or apprenticeship and are forced to go self-employed! OPINION: Dr Simon Reddy on employability and quality in Further Education - EPALE - European Commission