Search the forum,

Discuss 22mm compression isolating valves in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

boydell

Hello,

I am a newbie to this forum, so I hope am not going over old ground.

I have a 10 year old Worcester 240RSF Combi which I have managed to repair from time to time (non gas side that is), and as a result the 22mm central heating on/off flow and return pipe isolating valves slot head screws have become mangled and very difficult to operate. These would not be easy to replace, so I would like to add two standard 22mm isolating valves just below the offending originals where they enter the bottom left of the boiler.
Can anybody tell me if this is the best solution? Would gate valves be a better idea? From reading other plumbing forums I understand some plumbers in the trade don't bother to turn the CH flow and return off when draining the system because of the risk of them leaking. I have tried this, but when I fired it up (after filling to 1.5bar) I got an alarming banging and clanking noise from the boiler, and the thermal trip popped out. However, after resetting it and trying a second time all was well. Is there a trick of the trade to doing it this way?

regards,
boydell.

Gate valves are for low pressure use

Id stick to the usual brass ballofix valves. The problem with gate or lever valves are they are to easy to fiddle with or be turned off accidentally... something the combi wont like. As said gate valves are for gravity and even then their not brilliant.
Ballofix cant really be accidentally turned off and they dont tend to fail.(as long as you have a good fitting driver;))

I very rearly close the valves ,as said they will propably leak and most of the time there is not need to do so
If you have banging when you first fill up,you probably have the auto air vent closed.this needs opening to let air out when you are filling the boiler