Search the forum,

Discuss Wiring question series/parallel in the UK Plumbing Forum | Plumbing Advice area at PlumbersForums.net

Hay,

I'm learning fault finding in CH systems which I'd need help with, please.

I've been given a set example: have got hot water but heating. Measuring the resistance around the room thermostat and the motorised valve together gives a lower total resistance than measuring the individual components. The example is not going into details just shows the expected values (total and individual programmer and 3 port valve) so I worked backwards that it is actually calculating as a parallel wiring not series one. (See picture)
I thought the controls are wired in series normally.
Is parallel wiring an option with these two controls?

Thanks!

Attachments

• 20230822_204754.jpg
    20230822_204754.jpg
    521.4 KB · Views: 28
It would have to be in series for the switches to work otherwise they would just be bypassed?

I am no electrician

Maybe you can enlighten me but I'm not sure resistance is the way forward for finding broken components? It would be voltage at each component to ensure they are switching properly. You can't measure resistance over a programmer for example because the circuit is normally open and you want to check the switch in the normally closed position which it can't do without power, if it has power you can't check resistance (I think.) The same applies to the motorised valve which unless energised on the brown will be normally open across the grey to orange

Last edited:
It would have to be in series for the switches to work otherwise they would just be bypassed?

I am no electrician