Discuss switching to plumbing in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys,

Just Wondering who has come from an office job and is now plumbing?

Do you think it was the right decision?

What do you like/dislike about it?

Cheers

its nothing like the papers say, pay is up and down, plumbing on its own doesn't earn you enough money, omho and to get experience will take most to long as you need cash coming in to survive. I survived doing property maintenance whilst converting to heating and plumbing and had rents fm property to live on, dont see how you can do it if you have family etc to support.

I'm not too bothered about money as I know how much I can earn, I was a plumber for 10 years but moved to working in a finance department in an office thinking i would be happier in that job, but finding it extremely boring and feels like the day drags. Sitting at a desk all day is killing me. Money would most probably be better if I stuck at it as in 3 years I could be a chartered accountant but not sure it's worth it if you aren't happy.
just did my dad's tax return and he did really well last year doing plumbing.

long hours, poor money............... whats not to like :)

Why everyone says poor money. If your doing long hours and poor money you must be selling yourself short.
as a plumber doing normal hours you should be earning between 30k to 40k minimum, if not your doing something wrong

depends on many factors, yes if your doing good private work for customers who are willing to pay good money then you can make a go of it. If your going to subby or work an area with alot of cheap installers you will be better off with a direct job. Going day rate around my parts is ÂŁ100-ÂŁ120 a day. 30k is a bad wage for a self employed person, take away running cost and your close to a wage of 20k you really need to be at 50k to equal a good direct technical job imo.