Search the forum,

Discuss servicing aga-rayurns in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

CXR100

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
whats there to servicing and repairing the vapourising ones? I have no experience!! I have done my oftec pressure jet exams. what spares should I have to carry? thanks

Nightmare, to be honest! Ask Lame, as I know he does them.
If you really wanted to do some vapourising boilers, then start on an easier one local to you, after you have studied every detail of how it works. A basic Aga, for example, has the set of wicks needed for it. But the burner part must be dead level. The valve at the side of the Aga is something you need to understand as it has a filter and a little valve that need careful cleaning.
Avoid most of them.

The Vaporizing part from oftec first off (oft10-102w and oft10-102d). On top of usual test equipment, smoke pump, Firevalve tester etc. You will also need oil flow rate testing equipment, flue draft tester and preferably a wet flue gas test kit (some modern analysers don't like vaporizing appliances. As Lame will possibly agree, although they look basic in operation they can be very trying, and a great deal of patience is needed.

never used an fga on a vapourising burner yet, all done by correct set up and look of the flame. most problems come from the fuel supply, modern low sulpher fuels are a nightmare, and to be honest you only get called out to the ones that are causing the owners, that have serviced them themselves for years, problems, which you then have to fix. read and learn your vapourising manual from oftec of by heart and you'll have the basics, the rest is experience and trial and error. you will never forget your first call back to the one where you havent set the shells up correctly, ensure you have boiler suit, dust sheets and henry to hand :)