Search the forum,

Discuss Radiators not getting heated due to hot water priority in the Central Heating Forum area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello all,
I live in Lisbon, Portugal and having a hard time getting good advice on my heating system: Vaillant Ecotech plus boiler, Vsmart controller and 200L Junkers hot water tank. I understand the system prioritises hot water but it is to the extent that in normal operating mode the apartment never heats up as the radiators are almost never operating. I have done tests of only heating the hot water for 1 hour and then switching to hot water/heating mode and even then the system seems to continuously switch back to heating the hot water even when there is no usage of hot water.
So far my installer just says everything is "normal" but I don't believe so.
I am not a technical expert - attached are some photos of the piping of the system and would really appreciate anyone's input and advice here.
Thank you!
John

Attachments

• tempImagekXBgpr.png
    tempImagekXBgpr.png
    2.7 MB · Views: 28
  • tempImage7UNLHk.png
    tempImage7UNLHk.png
    2.8 MB · Views: 19
  • tempImagelVs25t.png
    tempImagelVs25t.png
    2.6 MB · Views: 24
Hi John,
I think your vSmart is one of these smart controllers which fires the boiler on/off and may (even though it shouldn't) take hours to get the rads up to temperature, some, like evohome will fire the boiler continuously if the room temperature(s) is < 1.5C below the setpoint temperature and then, as the room temp approaches its setpoint, the boiler will cycle on/off very frequently.
You say that the "system seems to continuously switch back to heating the hot water even when there is no usage of hot water.", do you mean by this that the boiler actually fires when it switches back (even with no HW demand) and if so then the HW cylinder should keep rising way above its setpoint?
What model boiler do you have?