Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Radiator Maintenance - leaks in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

StephenH

I have a number of radiators that need some general attention - nothing drastic (I hope) just a few leaks at joints here and there. It's a microbore system - at least the part I'm interested in at the moment. I'm inclined to take my adjustable spanner to each nut and tighten if I can but I'm loathe to do this without some advice/hints, 'beware of', etc. - I'm particularly concerned about stripping threads etc - does this need to be a real concern? Should I have any particular contigency standing by - I've got some of that white tape somewhere.

I have some minor experience messing about with water pipes in the past.

Thanks for any input you'd care to give.

yes try giving the leaky joints a slight tighten,
use another spanner/set of grips to hold the valve as you tighten the nut, otherwise you could twist the fitting, kink the pipe and course more problems.
you only want to apply the right amount of pressure
( how do you quantify that? you just have a feel for what is enough, or not )
sometimes joints are leaking because of previously being overtightened and the olive crushed.
ptfe tape might help, but you would probably be looking to drain down for that

before you go round tightening nuts make sure 100% that you know the origin of the leak. quite often it can be leaking from the gland nut under the head of the valve and running down onto the nut creating the impression that it is the nut leaking.

check this first.

Thanks for your advice - much appreciated - I've got myself a second adjustable spanner to help