Currently reading:
Problem with heating sytem - help please

Discuss Problem with heating sytem - help please in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

chrysagon

Hi All.

I'm a newbie on this site so if I make stupid statements born out of ignorance please bear with me, I'm not a plumber but an enthusiastic amateur and DIYer.
My CH system is approx 28 years old and consists of an Ideal Mexico Super(RS40) with initially 7 radiators(fitted with Sopac TRV's), 4 upstairs and 3 downstairs. A number of years ago an eighth small radiator was added in the kitchen about 4 feet from the boiler. the system has been fine apart from the boiler thermocouple changed a couple of times and the pump (grundfos UPS15 Type A )changed once. A few months ago the kitchen radiator started to lose heat and eventually went cold. I tried bleeding it but this made no difference. I didn't bother too much about this as it was in the kitchen which is usually warm anyway, however the hall radiator started to go the same way and eventually went cold then the main bedroom radiator went the same way. I should say that I put some X300 through the system about 6-7 years ago but didn't put inhibitor in after (oops)
Anyway, all this week I've been trying to get all radiators running again and am at the stage of removing what hair I have left. Here's what I've done so far.
Took the hall radiator off, flushed it and refitted.
Drained system and put X400 in and ran it again - this hasn't made much difference.
Flushed out bathroom radiator