Newbie here

Can someone please identify the part in the picture

This is connected to the discharge pipe on our hot water cyclinder

There is a small leak form the black part

Attachments

• 20210126_140740.jpg
    20210126_140740.jpg
    308.9 KB · Views: 14
Firstly if it's leaking then unless the boiler is nearby and that waste is also being used for the boiler condensate then there shouldn't be any water in the pipe.
It would suggest there's a problem with the unvented hot water cylinder.

Hepvalve or similar, as above.
The black part is a push fit to threaded adapter.
I'd suspect it's the 22mm painted copper pipe that's leaking where it joins the Black plastic, there will be a small reducer in there.

It is an unvented cylinder

The engineer came out and replaced several parts on the cylinder including fitting a new expansion vessel as he said there should not be any water in the pipe

He would not look at this as was not covered by the service

Since new parts fitted does not appear to be leaking but needs to be looked at for piece of mind

Reply to Part identification in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics

Hi all I'm hoping someone can shine a light on this for me Since our stop tap on the pavement has now been filled with sand for whatever reason, we are relying on our property fitted stopcock (this is outside on our garage wall) Unfortunately turning this to the closed position only reduces...
Replies
Views
Every two weeks or so I have to go and top up the system because the hot taps are running cold. Boiler display is flashing 0.6 bar and I fill up to 1.3. I've had an engineer look inside the boiler and he can't see anything wrong. I've checked the pipes all over the house and cannot see any...
Replies
Views