Discuss Need Help with cv in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Cheech

Hi all I have just been made redundant from my job as a domestic gas boiler installer, as I got the job just after leaving school 7 years ago.

I have no experience with writing cv’s and am finding it difficult.
I was wondering if anyone had a good CV template to help me along a bit would be very great full of your help Thanks.

Can I just say that some of the important things we look for on a CV are:

Have you got full driving licence?
Have you got your own vehicle?
As well as the obvious: Relevant qualifications
Relevant experience.
Other experience can be relevant - eg if you worked in a bar or was a sales person it might show that you will be good at communicating with customers.
Great at cleaning up is a bonus!
Special interests or hobbies might help to make you stand out from the hundreds of others who are also qualified, unemployed plumbers.
Try to keep it to 2 pages max.
Easy to read, most recent stuff first.
Name address and contact number at the top of every page.

More importantly - contact companies by phone first and get the name of the person you are to send it to - shows you take initiative.
Get email address and email it to them - post goes in the bin but we will always have your email!
And phone again after they have received it - be proactive.
Don't expect a responce may companies get to many to reply to but if you phone and email you are more likely to get a reply.

When I'm working with the kids at school / college I use the folowing (template 2);

CV Templates - SortItOnline

Using the advice above and contained on our website have a go at doing one and if you need to email it to me and when I get 5 mins in my dinner break I'll check it over for you. [email protected]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Need Help with cv in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net