Discuss My WC cistern empties itself, but not into the pan or overflow. Where does it go? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Geoff french

Hi All
I am a new member and this is my first post. I have been doing DIY for some 50 years, but I find this one a total mystery:

My WC (mains water) inlet keeps running, but slowly. I have replaced the valve but still it doe not shut off.

To save wasting water I turned the maintenance valve off until I could investigate further. When I returned an hour or so later the cistern was empty. No leaks found. I allowed the cistern to fill again and added some blue dye to the water. The cistern emptied itself again, and then I looked for blue water. None seen.

This blue water has disappeared, nothing in the pan, nothing in the manhole outside. The old original overflow pipe is capped off in side the cistern.

Can anyone help please.
Geoff.

Hi Steve
Thanks for your reply. The pan is an old washdown type.
Regards
Geoff.

Dry around under the rim of the pan then lay single squares of dry paper around under the rim and leave for awhile, if paper becomes wet there is you answer.

Thanks RPM
I have tried your suggestion of putting dry paper under the rim, but it did not solve the problem. I allowed the cistern to fill and turned the maintenance valve off and the cistern emptied after about 20 minutes, but the paper was still dry! Any more ideas?
Regards
Geoff.

Thanks RPM
I have tried your suggestion of putting dry paper under the rim, but it did not solve the problem. I allowed the cistern to fill and turned the maintenance valve off and the cistern emptied after about 20 minutes, but the paper was still dry! Any more ideas?
Regards
Geoff.

There's not many places the water can be disappearing!