Search the forum,

Discuss Multifuel boiler for CH only in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

Kenny.5

Hello,

Looking for some advice on a solid fuel installation.
I'm a sparky by trade, and while I've got a reasonable appreciation of plumbing it's obviously not my trade. A friend of my dad is a plumber who's qualified for solid fuel so once I've narrowed down my options I'll discuss things with him and he'll then be overseeing the work with me as his lacky.

We currently have a Hunter Herald 14 CE multifuel stove linked to a 30 year old Ideal Mexico LPG boiler with a Dunsley Type R Neutraliser.
One of the burning bars in the boiler is shot and we can't find replacements so unfortunately it's just about had it's day.

Having watched how the system operates since we moved in 6 months ago, there's definitely scope to improve things.
For example,
The boiler short cycles when the stove is on.
The heat leak radiator is in an upstairs bedroom.
There are too many radiators for the output of the stove.
The gravity circuit through the stove has several tight 90deg bends in it and as such it struggles to thermosyphon in the event of a power cut.

So we've decided to overhaul the entire system when we change the boiler.

One of the options I've considered is doing away with the link up system altogether and fitting a Combi.
Then have a separate CH system with 4 radiators running off the stove, we have enough space in useful places to position these additional radiators.

My question is, would it be ok to do this without a DHW cylinder? One of the radiators would obviously still be a dedicated heat leak.

Any advice much appreciated.

Kenny.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Multifuel boiler for CH only in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics