Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Megaflo or Plumb Centre Store Branded Version? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

simonabsolute

Hi there. I am new to site and need some expert advice...
Have we installed an inferior system?:confused:
We recently asked a plumber to install a megaflo boiler into our house and new boiler (Worcester Greenstar 40 CDi) they advised us that a branded Centre Brand one was as good and was in fact also made by megaflo. I told them I was not interested in saving a few quid to get an inferior system but they assured me there was no difference other than the expansion cylinder? being seperate.
Long and shot is that it does not give us good pressure in showers and when you turn on kitchen tap you end up getting burnt in the shower.
In our previous house we had a megaflo and had none of these problems, it was superb.
Have i done the wrong thing installing the branded system? Thanks for your time in advance.
Simon
PS. Also just paid £500 to have new 25mm water main run to the house which then goes onto 22mm cooper to system.

it is highly likely that the PC is a branded Mega flo cylinder

The shower wil spike in temp if its a manual one

If its thermostatic then it shouldn't

Do you know what mains preesure you have got?

Sounds like you will need to get the installer back out

centre brand are the plumb centres own brand and theyre thought of as budget materials.

ive not compared a megaflow to the centre brand version so wouldnt know the differences. But your flow is determined on the mains. have you tried to check with flow cup and pressure on the cold mains compared to what you have from the cylinder?

if the pressures are different this could of damaged the cartridge in the shower.

Last edited by a moderator: