Discuss Letting Agents v Gas Safe Engineers in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Viper Gas

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Hi guys,

I have been working for myself for some time now and have quite a few years experience under the belt but recently I decided to work for a letting agent.

On my first job (for a boiler change) I quoted him what I thought was a fair price while keeping in mind he wanted to make something out of it himself. I intended to allow him 10% of the final cost to the customer. You can imagine my surprise to hear he wanted to make around £500 for the lead.

I am not willing to drop my prices below what I think is fair so needless to say it makes it very difficult for me to win any work from his landlords if he wants such a large cut. I am a Gas Safe Engineer, something which has cost me time, money and effort. Now it is time to start reaping the benefits of this auspicious title, is it not?

Can anyone tell me about their experiences with letting agents or how they work with them so that everyone is happy?

Cheers

DD368

Last edited:
Not much experience directly, but I know £500 for doing nothing is taking the pee.
Your 10% offer sound fair to me.

DD368, I do maintenance and repair for a letting agent. They won't take me up on instalation or replacement. Too expensive they say! Personnaly I'd say make as much as you can when you can coz they'll drop you like a stone should someone less expensive come along!

At the end of the day you bill/quote the letting agent. Entirely up to them how much they want to make. It all depends on how much the contract means to you as to how much you're willing to compromise.

I've found that letting agents don't want any hastle from the landlords, or the tenants. I tend to arrange all the CP12s and contact the tenats direct to arrange visits... that has worked for me ....