Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Is this standard practice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Benzimmer

Hi chaps some advice needed please! I rent and my landlady has left me to arrange the heating refurb as a friend said he'll do it. I got home to see this gas pipe run behind my kitchen door which no longer opens fully! The "mate" said its normal for a pipe to run along the ceiling in this fashion !!!! is this right it looks painfully like an easy option to me? Now I'm not an expert but I disagree can someone tell me if I'm correct please?? Please see the pics.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    10.8 KB · Views: 127
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    12.5 KB · Views: 111
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    12.4 KB · Views: 104
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    11.6 KB · Views: 106
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    8.2 KB · Views: 105
Looks horrendous. Do you have mountains of furniture upstairs?!

If the gas pipe is impeding the door. Then the door could be swung with force which could potentially damage a GAS pipe.

That's a no brainer

is Stevie wonder doing it? because whoever done that is either blind or clueless

In short no its not to standards. Gas installation should be done to BS 6891:2005+A2:2008
Installation of low pressure gas pipework of up to 35 mm (R1 1/4)in domestic premises (2nd family gas).

It is clearly prescribed in that, pipes should not be installed in a manner which mechanical damage may occur. Door on to pipe is mechanical damage.

Also building regulations issues, part m and fire safety.

Blokes a chimp but don't rely on my opinion, get his name and phone number and if possible signature on boiler documents and cert and call gas safe or building control.

Last edited by a moderator:
In short no its not to standards. Gas installation should be done to BS 6891:2005+A2:2008