Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Installing pipes in a cavity wall in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

wily

Hi. Newbie here so go easy with me please.

I'm installing a wood burning boiler stove in my living room , but the only route for the plumbing
without spoiling the décor with boxing in of pipes, is routing them inside the cavity wall. Although
it was at one time an outside wall, a two story extension now renders it an inside wall. It is not
filled with insulation and would be an ideal route for my plumbing.

My question is: are there any building regs to comply with regarding pipes installed in cavity walls,
internal or otherwise?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

wily

Sounds like a ballbuster trying to get them in for the sake of a bit of boxing!! Mount them on the surface and box them,

By the way... are you a heatas reg plumber?

Sounds like a ballbuster trying to get them in for the sake of a bit of boxing!! Mount them on the surface and box them,

By the way... are you a heatas reg plumber?

It will be fairly simple to get them in, as I only have to knock a couple of holes into the cavity.
One from my garage, and the other in the cylinder cupboard. There will be no joints in the
pipework inside the cavity and there is sufficient gap to fully insulate them. Much easier
than keeping SWMBO happy by not having to box in and re-decorate.

I'm not a HETAS approved plumber, but my local authority inspector is (including flue liner etc).
I cant' get him
out for a week, but I want to get the job finished. That is why I wanted to clarify the
regs before going ahead.

My gut instinct (being a fully qualified mechanical and electrical factory engineer) tells
me
that any regs will not apply now the cavity wall is internal to the building, but I just