Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Gas fire services? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

macka09

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Hi all, I have another post about servicing a fire on the forum but can't seem to move it to the arms?

Anyway. When servicing gas fires fitted to a brick chimney, what's the protocol if the your unsure of its integrity, but all is well with the flue flow test? I went to service an Inlaws fire today and I'm very new to working on the fires but I wasn't happy with the chimney so I isolated it. There were other issues like the flames lifting from top of radiants and it seems to suffer with bad down drafts although there is a terminal in position. Any advice greatly appreciated.

did you remove the fire and smoke bomb it ?if that clears and the fllow test passes with the appliance in place then flue is ok be carefull to get the smoke match in the right place according to mi's usually on the plate on the fire somewhere as well burner pressure and gas rate it

As above, smoke bomb the flue. Check in the loft and in the bedrooms above to check for smoke leaking in to the rooms.
Sometimes you have to warm the flue a little first.

Yer fire was removed along with debris in the catchment space. Nothing appeared in loft or bedrooms. Smoke seemed to take a while to come from terminal. Spillage was carried out to MIs. Got 3 different readings on gas pressure at test point. Do you gas rate it even when not stated in MIs if burner pressure is ok? Also it stated in the MIs cold pressure?

Last edited: