Discuss Fit boiler without scaffold in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

gas sam

Hi
Can any one tell me if it is possible to fit a boiler to current standards on the fourth floor with out the use of scaffolding?? Is there a way to seal the flue, put the flue collar on and kick back the pressure relief pipe without going outside. sounds like a bit of a tall order but equally dont fancy getting scaffolding in.
I have been an repair engineer with BG for years but when it comes to installations i dont have to much experience.

thanks

sam

I wouldn't risk it off a ladder for a gold pig!! What about hiring a zip up scaffold from somewhere like HSS if they do one high enough?

To difficult the ground underneath makes it too awkward. i would have to get the professionals in. I was really hoping someone had come up with a way to do it with out going outside??

Not a chance! You can rent a rope operated ladder that will reach and you can get a safety foot to help stabilize it. If you've got the guts and can get someone to foot the ladder thats the only way I can see to do it without the full scaffold

saw a boiler that had a blow off assembly that fitted from inside (someone will advise what make, might have been alpha, so you can have a look and use it or make something similar) seal flue by pushing through from inside with weather callor already fitted (some manufacturers allow it, some dont, so again use an appropriate boiler)