Discuss Electric heat only boiler installation advice for a charity please in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello, would appreciate any advice please.

I assist a charity which is taking on a building which has stood empty for some years.
It will be used for archival storage and office/exhibit area.
Existing heating was blown air via a large commercial grade HVAC unit utilising a pressurejet oil burner. Long disused, and completely unsafe and unserviceable.
No mains gas available.

We intend to fit a heat only electric boiler system with rads via plastic pipe work. Most likely Potterton 12KW.

Electrical connection to be completed/signed off by competent person.

Can anyone offer any advice please? I’ve been repairing plumbing systems for many years but am not a heating engineer, and this sort of system is unfamiliar.

Many thanks.

I can't comment on electric boilers simply because I have no experience with them but what makes you think your old oil boiler is unsafe and unserviceable?

Heating electrically is always going to be expensive, do the charity own the building?

An LPG boiler is an option but you'd need someone to change the bottles over every now and then or remember to have a larger tank refilled.

Struggling to get my head around a 12KW wet boiler replacing a "large oil fired warm air heater"

In term of price per KW, electricity is approx 5 times more expensive than NG and 2.5 - 3 times that of oil and LPG.

If the electric boiler is sufficient than an LPG fed boiler would neatly offer an alternative.

Dont right off the warm air heater until an expert has had a look. I have converted from oil to NG and oil to LPG and depending on the type and age, can be done easier than you may think. Manufacturer support would be needed for a compatible LPG burner, along with any other internal components of the combustion chamber but many of the warm air units can take LPG, NG and Oil with some modifications. Or get it fixed... - Hope this helps,