Discuss Electric boiler, reliability? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mbear

Might have a job for a small hairdressing shop, cust wants central heating at a decent cost, problem Is theres no gas in the row of shops. The neighbouring shop got a qoute of 4/5k to get gas piped in. So there goes the budget already. I'm tempted to offer an electric boiler but if I'm honest I have no experience fitting or fixing them. I've always done NG boilers. Are the heatraes reliable? Cheap to run? Relatively simple to install? Easy to repair?

It's only going to run 5/6/7 rads at most. The cust is wanting to keep the electric showers that are currently in place 4 washing hair and such like.

Ta

We put in one about 18 months ago with an unvented cylinder. Not heard a dicky bird from the tenant, so to my knowledge still working. For what we installed, they did need to be on Economy 10 tho.

We put in one about 18 months ago with an unvented cylinder. Not heard a dicky bird from the tenant, so to my knowledge still working. For what we installed, they did need to be on Economy 10 tho.

Economy as in the fuel rate? Can the cust change to economy 10 or whatever if they're not already on it?

Or if they're not on it can the boiler not be fitted?

I installed one of these in April last year [DLMURL]http://www.elnur.es/download/manuales/CM%20y%20CMX%20manual.pdf[/DLMURL]

If they have existing electric showers you will need to check out total electric loads vs the supply they have.

Last edited by a moderator:
fitting an elnur cmx15 electric storage combi tomorrow, first electric, SimonG put me on to them. www.elnur.co.uk. Cannot comment about reliability yet tho...hope they are good, dont see why not, dont know if you will be able to keep electric showers tho due to current loading. my cust gets cheap leccy 24-7.