Discuss cwst keeps refilling in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

bigben

I am not very technical so forgive me if I am vague.

The CWST in the attic keeps refilling despite no water being used. water is flowing into it continually. the overflow is not leaking and the ball valve has been replaced. I cannot see any obvious leak. This has been happening for some time. Any help gratefully received

must be a leak someware then?

have a look behind bath panel & behind the sink unit sometimes leaks can just run away under the floor

Has been doing this for about 6 months and no sign of leak. With this type of system could leak be in heating pipes or just hot and cold water pipes

Is it refilling via the ball valve? If not it could be a faulty mixer valve most likely a shower valve passing into the hot water system and subsequently filling the cold tank. If it is not that then the only other thing it can be is a split cylinder coil.

Checks you can do yourself:

If the expansion tank is not above the cold water tank it can't be the coil.

Turn off the mains open the cold tap in the kitchen and leave over night. Check the water level in both your expansion tank and CWST if the exp is above that is. If the expansion tank is empty your coil is gone if it is ok it's most likely a passing into the hot mixer.

does the tank feed the cold to the bathroom? do you have an internal overflow toilet?

It is refilling by the ball valve. we have just had new cylinder fitted and problem is still occurring. No wc fitted as we are getting renovations done. Mains feed to taps in bathroom. In addition new immersion heater will only give minimal amt of hot water

Thanks to all. Found a leak in hot water pipes. problem now solved

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to cwst keeps refilling in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics