Discuss courses for qualifications in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

leebaz

hi every one, im looking for advice on plumbing qualifications. Im a new gas engineer and im trying to do anything I can to help better my qualifications and to get the best understanding I can out of my new career choice. I have a basic knowledge of plumbing but im looking to 1, get the proof I can do this and 2, better my skills. the problem I have Is all the courses I can find only cover what I know and im not paying 1000s for a piece of paper saying im competent and im not getting into apprentices at im 27 with bills to pay.

cheers for help

lee

Assume you have no plumbing qualifications other than gas?

The problem is. I don't want to pay the amount of money to teach me things i already know. Is there a way to prove my skills to get my qualification?

College is the best route mate. Maybe a night class. You won't get anywhere sadly without some on the job experience

Damn. I was hoping there was another answer. As I've looked into them and the ones I have come across are a year long. The things we have to go through just to get a piece of paper to say you can do something! Cheers for the advise

There is nothing to say you can't work for/with someone while you learn. That way you'll be earning and gaining experience. There are obviously fast track options but often you come out with no more than you went in with qualifications wise