Discuss Connecting 110mm Plastic to 93mm Lead Soil Pipe in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

lydart

Hi Everyone I'm a newbie to this forum so please be gentle.

I'm installing a new bathroom suite and customer wants the toilet moved to a new position. The existing soil pipe is lead and is in great condition with no leaks. The lead is soldered into the CI. The CI socket is hard up against a floor joist and I don't think it wise to try and get a flame in there. I thought I'd just cut the lead pipe and use a Flexseal coupler to join to the plastic, so I called Flexseal for advice and they said they didn't recommend any of their couplers for lead.

I'm sure I've seen plastic connected to lead using Flexseal or similar and would like your advice on what product I should use?

I should point out that I have no experience of flaring lead pipes and want to maintain the existing flow.

Lead Soil.jpg

Hey, i have always supplied the mcalpine fitting suggested by glenno1. you should be able to pick it up from any trade merchant. Mcalpine code is DC1.. one end fits inside the CI and the soil fits neatly in the other end..
hope this helps..

Hey, i have always supplied the mcalpine fitting suggested by glenno1. you should be able to pick it up from any trade merchant. Mcalpine code is DC1.. one end fits inside the CI and the soil fits neatly in the other end..
hope this helps..

I have a DC1 and it is too big. The ID of the lead pipe is ~88mm.

Is it too much hassle to change the whole stack tp 4 inc plastic

be carefull and bell out the lead if its thick enough to take a bit of working.

Then you can work in the fully flanged multiquick - with plenty of fairy liquid ..oops the proper grease/slippy stuff that is in the little wrapper.

centralheatking

Thanks for all your replies. Think I'll try the Multikwik first, don't really want to replace the whole stack.