Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Becoming a gas safe engineer in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

leakylee

Hi there all, this is my first time on any sort of forum so excuse me if i get things wrong. I have been a level 2 plumber for a couple of years now and I am wanting to progress to gas safe engineer. The problem I have is I'm self employed, I do use a gas safe engineer for my gas work and he has agreed to sign any relevant course work. My question is this, How do I become a gas safe engineer? I cannot find any info or explanation of what I will have to do (e.g. 2 years training with a day at college each week like my N.V.Q). I even went to a gas training centre in Welwyn Garden City and they confused me even more, suffice to say I wont be training with them as they were very poor at communicating. Can someone please explain to me what the procedure/time/cost will be. Many thanks.

Really you need to contact a training centre, to see what their criteria is. I believe different awarding bodies have different criteria to meet. Last time I helped someone out, they went on a foundation course, then went away and completed a portfolio of evidence, around 45 jobs iirc. Once the Tc are satisfied with the portfolio, they will then let you sit your Acs exams.
Kirkgas will give you more info.
Welcome to the firum btw

Thanks Grahamgas, So basically it goes like this, do training at centre, complete portfolio onsite, sit Acs exams, become gas safe! is that the jist of it? one last thing is kirkgas in hertfordshire? cheers

"And when you've fitted the new fan belt on that Bentley, you're next job is a dripping tap at no.49..."

Before starting your acs ,seriously look for somebody to work with and start making a portfolio.
When I trained doing my acops many years ago ,there weren't many training schools .