Search the forum,

Discuss Aqua boards in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

baldyb220

Hi guys,

Just recently gone self employed plumber after 2 and a half years of working with someone as an apprentice. My hand was forced to go self employed so I'm still learning loads as I go along. I'm managing to get a bit of work each week too so I'm ticking along ok as it is at the moment. I just wanted to ask a question about aqua boards for showers.

Can you fit them over tiles? Only asking as the customer doesn't want to spend money on removing and making walls good as on a budget. I've never done it myself before but just checking if it can be done?

Any help or advice with this would be great.

Thanks

i would say no cant you build a false wall out ? only would need about 2 1/4 inches max

With a shower they need to spend some money and you need to tell them where. Strip back and fit the boards. Not worth the hassle of receiving the old 'theres water coming through the ceiling' call.

Hi mate, no unfortunately very little room at all plus theres the added cost of materials for it. She doesn't want to spend much as its a small bathroom for her boys as she has a main one that needs doing and thats where all the attention and money is going. I'm doing what I can quote wise to get what she wants its proving difficult

Just remember who will get the pointy finger when it all goes breasts up. Always tend to get shafted when trying to help somebody out.

If she hasn't the money to do it properly, should it be done at all? I think you are on a very steep learning curve, one that we have all been on. Advise her it cant be done. Is keeping the old tiles an option?

Showers are always the one's that seem to cause problems. You have to start from a position of strength. Point out the potential problems and if the customer is aderment that she wants to go ahead. Ask her to sign a disclaimer.
Best of luck