Discuss yet another how do i become a gas engineer thread!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
There is another problem, which is using one "standard" for a whole range of activities.

For example, if I was just fitting hobs and cookers in new kitchens, then I dare say you could teach me all I needed to know in 6 weeks.

Similarly, if I was a maintenance engineer for a specific product - say for example a gas-fired laundry machine - then again, I could learn all the gas safety stuff in a few weeks.

The problem comes when we pretend that this "domain specific" knowledge is equated with being able to install, maintain, diagnose and fix a whole raft of products from different times and makers.

Its not right to insist that the former guy completes a 4yr apprenticeship to do that limited job. Yet its also not right to pretend that 6 weeks makes you a sodding expert in everything!

Totally agree Simon i think the key is safe working practices though isn't it? You might come across a boiler with a brand new fault that you've never experienced but it's all about working through methodically and above all safely. This is my point with the diyers/illegals who never have tools for safety eg FGA etc. everyday is indeed a school day but unlike the have a go heroes we keep ourself and the customer out of harm.

Very true. You just go through your fault finding and away you go. Always get a real sense of achievment when its not a standard problem and youve nailed it.

The thing is everybody has to start somewhere, but the number of times you get called to a boiler breakdown and its not the boiler means that you cant just train people in 'how a boiler works', you need to see the bigger picture, external controls, blocked cold feeds, pumping over etc etc.