Search the forum,

Discuss x-dimensions and inset depths of fittings in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

nick penfold

Hey all,

I'm in my 2nd year of a college course doing both my nvq and tech cert.

Now, at work, i have no problems with any pipework etc. At college i find most of it quite easy. However, everytime it comes to building your typical frame in copper, plastics or LCS i seem to get the measurements out by about 2 or 3 mm.

Trust me, when i made the copper frame in the first year, i had to make it again about 6 times.

Im kinda wondering am i measuring wrong? i understand what the x dimension is and normally measure the inset depth by putting a piece of pipe in the fitting, marking off then removing and measuring the distance.

Kinda had the same issue with the plastic hep type stuff. im guessing that could be due to the inserts in to the pipe extending its length.

Is there a set technique to measure this x-dimension and inset depth?

is there any tech docs out there giving basic x-dim's for all the different makes of fitting?

did or does anyone else struggle with this at college?

i don't believe i should be having such trouble with this but for whatever reason i am.

Any enlightenment from the old hands or peeps still at college would be greatly recieved.

Nick

if you need to worry about 2-3mm for your college work, then you might be best asking your tutor for some more advice. sounds like your doing everything fine and in the real world 2-3mm is nowt to worry about. good luck

shaun

All fittings are different , if you are referring to how much pipe goes in the fitting, or the z measurement which is taken from the exact middle to the beginning of the pipe it is usually the exact measurement of the pipe eg 15 mm z measurement is 15 mm on a pushfit! When you do this in the real world you wont use the same methods anyway so dont worry .:)

Hi