Search the forum,

Discuss Worcester 28CDi RSF Combi-Boiler (gas) problem......please help ! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Pete@

Hi,
I have a Worcester 28CDi RSF Combi-Boiler (gas) which I have a problem with.
I had a plumber come to look at it yesterday and he told me that I should replace the boiler as it would cost more than it is worth to fix it.
The plumber is not someone I know, and fair enough, if it needs a new boiler then that is what we will have to do, but I'd like to a second guess on this before I spend money that I can't really afford.

I am an experienced mechanical engineer and understand that things go wrong, perhaps I should just stop rambling tell you about the problem and ask for your opinion !?.

For a little while now (since around xmas), the central heating side of our boiler has been playing up. It runs for around 5 to 10 minutes and then gives a boiler lockout error (red light flashing).
If I reset the error, the ignition system will try to light (there is a good consistent spark), but it fails to light (almost as if there is no gas coming through) and the lockout error continues.

The hot water side of the system is fine, although it does sometimes cut out with the same type of issue.

It is almost as if the system is overheating and shutting itself down.
If I isolate the system for a while, (until it has cooled ?), I get the same symptoms over again (can't get past those first 5 to 10 minutes).
The radiators become warm, but not hot (no blockage or water pump issue ?).

The plumber says that it is a faulty heat exchanger, and would cost around four hundred to replace, ok I've looked at the cost of the spares and can accept this.

Does this sound right ?, is there something I can try (reasonable electrical and mechanical) just to make sure the problem is the heat exchanger ?.