Search the forum,

Discuss What is causing water to come from overflow pipe in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,
I am new to this site so I hope I am posting on the correct forum. I just bought a house with u8nderfloor heating serviced with a Vaillant Echotec plus boiler. It is a pressurised system (no tanks in the loft) but it has a stainless hot water cylinder so it is not a combi boiler heating hot water direct from the mains. The house was built 11 years ago so I guess everything is that old. As background, I have just replaced a faulty pressure vessel in the boiler (I was slowly losing pressure and water came out when I checked the shraeder valve) and that problem now seems solved. I am a competent DIYer and not a plumber by trade though I did install a complete central heating system in my previous house.
The problem I have is about 0.5 litres of water comes out of an outside overflow pipe when the shower is used and is running for 5 minutes or so. As I did not have the house built and the majority of the pipework is underfloor or boxed in, I am uncertain where the source of the overflow pipe is. Anyone got any ideas as to what the problem is likely to be. I suspect the overflow pipe also discharges water if a hot tap in a sink is left running for several minutes but I have not yet checked this.
When hot water is drawn off from the system and cold water from the mains replenishes it, I am guessing there is some sort of pressure increase that may activate a pressure release valve somewhere in the system but this is only a guess. Any ideas and help will be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance to anyone who can help

And you should not be replacing the expansion vessel in your boiler as the cover forms a combustion seal.

I would say likelihood is that your shower mixer is passing and forcing water back up into your loft tank causing it to overflow