Search the forum,

Discuss Welding in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
O

on31ll

How hard is it to learn ? I know how lings a piece of string etc. but is i wanted to learn to weld say 3in pipe can it be self taught ?

Commence the laughter.

3 inch pipe as in the exhausts fell off my pure mental turbo 1.0L vauxhall corsa - yes self learn.
Buy more than you need, practice.

3 inch pipe as in to convey flammable pressurised something.
Need to be coded

Last edited by a moderator:
Choose your face protection wisely.

wFAIL.jpg

Sorry, had to post this. :smile5: :90:

It took me 18 months of one night a week to get to test standard on Arc

As said it depends what you want to weld, mig welding is easy, providing the welder is a good one. Arc welding is a bit old hat these days .
I have never tried tig but my mate says it's just a step up from mig welding.

now proper welding, is gas welding a brand new sill on to a rusty floor pan of a old rusty wreck of a car, lying on your back with hot molten under seal dripping in your ear. Setting fire to your skin....... Piece of ****, those were the days.

Yes of course you can learn yourself, it's exceptionally time consuming to get to a standard before you can tell people you are a welder.

I would advise asking around people you know (someone must know a welder) see if you can go spend some time with them first then look into a college course to work your way to ASME9 or class 1 or class 2. Only really need these if your going to weld pressure vessels, gas, steam Etc, if you're just welding for some lphw then there is no need to be coded.

As for method, we only really use TIG on stainless and then ARC on steel. Companies worth anything will not allow you to MIG pipework

Or on bigger pipework you would TIG a route pass and then stick the rest of the welds