Discuss Water Test Results - Heat Exchanger Pack In in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi

Our Vokera boiler was installed just over a year ago. The Heat Exchanger gave up the ghost last week and the engineer took a water sample and stated that is was likely that the system hadn't been flushed property and there were still chemicals present. I have received the water results but haven't got a clue what they mean? Can anyone help?

Boiler Water Results.PNG

I think you have your answer, the system hasnt been flushed properley, take it up with your installer. It wants powerflushing again for sure

Im not an expert at chemistry but it looks like, there are as the engineer said chemicals present in the system water, The PH levels indicate the acidity or alkaline levels of the water running around your heating system, 8.7 is fairly alkaline and outside the recomendations of the manufacturer as it will have eaten into the internal metal and pipework of your boiler. The results are telling you that the aluminium and copper levels are whats been eaten away or not flushed out, and is now mixed with your system water. Unfortunatley the manufacturer will probably tell you its an installer error for not flushing your system sufficiently and may well not pay for a new heat exchanger. You will need a really decent system flush and fresh inhibitor to protect the new heat exchanger which you are presumably having fitted. It's not a difficult job to test the levels of PH in your system and really should be close to neutral which is has a PH level of 7.

Thank you for your comments so far. I have been in touch with the installer who is adamant that he flushed the system and put the inhibitor in. In all honesty I do remember him leaving a machine running overnight to flush the system. He has told me that the manufacturer is prone to being difficult to deal with.