Search the forum,

Discuss Ultracom 38cxi Gas rate, gas flow on and off in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

gingalig

Gas Engineer
I hope it's ok, being posted here, I just did a gas rate on an Gloworm ultracom 38cxi, I put it into service mode Hi, and ran the hot tap in the kitchen, The meter was a metric and I timed for 2 mins, The flow of gas at the meter stopped, all be it briefly and then re-started twice during the test. Is this the gas valve regulator shutting off the supply ? and is it ok ? everything else seems fine , Co2 rates all within M.I's Ratio good, flame picture good and pressure at test point on boiler just over 20mb, I had somthing similar happen on a worchester, it was a really hot day and the heating was already at temperature, after speaking to worchester running the hot tap stopped it. Apologies for demonstrating my ignorance but i'm a bit of a newbie and I need to know whats going on.

@Lou any chance you could grant op access to the gsr forum

Op can you supply your gas safe reg number to Lou please

Are you gas safe registered?
If you are send your details in and post this on the right forum section.

:)

Probably heat exchanger blocked and boiler cycling / shutting down intermittently

Was the boiler still firing or did it shut down as well ?

sometimes it is hard to get the boiler to run flat out for long enough to get all the tests done as temps can rise fast and the boiler will modulate down to compensate or even shut off unit temps drop.
this is what i do for a combi.
1, make sure all the air is out of the hot water cct.
2. run all hot taps
3. Stay with boiler and make sure it stabilises and does not hit max temp.
4. At leisure wonder down to the meter and check rate.
5. Take Co2

For system boilers, you have to be a little more nimble.
1. Unless doing it from cold its almost a waste of time unless you are just checking co2 on minimum