Search the forum,

Discuss Torbeck Bottom Entry Cistern Float Valve problem in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

monkertron

Hi I wonder if anyone can help. I have a problem with a trickle of water constantly filling in the toilet bowl. I've looked in the cistern and it seems to be consistently filling/trickling out of what i've located as a Torbeck Bottom Entry Cistern Float Valve. The water level fills up but not enough to raise the float arm to shut off completely. You can push the arm down gently so it fills above the float and it shuts off. You can screw down the float to a lower level, but the water never fills up to cover the float to shut the fill off.

I did read it may be a problem with: the syphon, or grit or limescale. The latter i have read the Torbecks don't suffer from. I'm not sure what or where the syphon is or looks like on this unit.

Sorry i'm a novice but i reckon i should be able to fix this problem without a plumber.
Thanks in advance.

Well I was just about to offer some advice but then read your bit about fixing it without a plumber so i guess that rules me out. :)

Ahh don't be like that gents. I meant i hope it was fairly simple fix. Of course i bow to all knowledge on here. If it needs a plumber then so be it.

We are only kidding, some of us have a warped sense of humour on here.

1. isolate cold feed to the toilet. You will hopefully have a isolation valve on the cold feed, if not, turn your stop tap off

2. where the arm attaches to the body, you will see a round plastic piece with threads on, unscrew this carfully.

3. This will expose the diaphragm, take careful note of how it fits into the body for reassembly

4. check for any dirt on it or in the body, also check for any rips or tears

5. slowly turn the water on to flush out any debris that may be in the valve, be careful as it will go everywhere if you open it too much