Search the forum,

Discuss Toilet leaking and refilling in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all,

As per my username, I am a complete rookie! Our downstairs toilet seems to refil itself more or less every 5 or so minutes, sometimes less, and it’s driving me crazy!

I’ve put tissue to the back of the basin and indeed water is seeping out nonstop.

I have taken our the flush valve (I think it’s that?) and cleaned the bottom which has a lot of grime on it! Reattached and still happening!

The toilet is about 2 years old (new build). I’ve attached pictures if that helps? Any advice is welcome. The item circled is what I took out, the arrow is what was covered in grime! The unit is stuck to the wall so I’m hoping it doesn’t have to come off?

Thanks

90D55B0D-78B7-4B45-BFD7-518F96C70E8D.jpeg

Hi all,

As per my username, I am a complete rookie! Our downstairs toilet seems to refil itself more or less every 5 or so minutes, sometimes less, and it’s driving me crazy!

I’ve put tissue to the back of the basin and indeed water is seeping out nonstop.

I have taken our the flush valve (I think it’s that?) and cleaned the bottom which has a lot of grime on it! Reattached and still happening!

The toilet is about 2 years old (new build). I’ve attached pictures if that helps? Any advice is welcome. The item circled is what I took out, the arrow is what was covered in grime! The unit is stuck to the wall so I’m hoping it doesn’t have to come off?

Thanks

Hello absolute rookie,

Some things to consider:
Do you know how to isolate it? Should have a valve on it.
Second just double check the seating of where it sits for any debris.
You can obtain replacement rubber seals for those push button syphons and it could also be leaking from in between where it sits through the cistern - in which case the cistern would need to be removed.